Awards and Badges 

Scouting is not just about learning essential life skills and having fun; it's also a journey of personal growth and achievement. Within the UK Scouts program, there are various awards and badges that young scouts can work towards, showcasing their dedication, teamwork, and individual progress. 


As a parent, understanding these rewards can help you support your child on their scouting adventure. In this guide, we'll walk you through the different types of awards and what kids need to do to earn them.


Membership Badges

These awards are the starting point for new scouts and help them get acquainted with the basic principles and practices of scouting. 

More about different badges and where they go on the scout’s shirt, can be found here.

By supporting their scouting journey, you're helping them become well-rounded individuals who are prepared to face challenges and make a positive impact on the world around them.

Progression Awards

These awards are earned as scouts advance through the different sections of the scout’s program, such as Beavers, Cubs, Scouts, Explorers, and Network. 

They recognize the scouts' growing abilities and responsibilities. 

Earning these awards is a testament to your child's dedication and hard work. As a parent, you can encourage your child to actively participate in scouting activities, engage in skill-building exercises, and contribute to their community.

Activity Awards

These awards celebrate a scout's participation and achievements in specific areas of interest.

Special Interest Badges

These badges enable scouts to dive into their passions and develop expertise in particular fields. Few example:

Chief Scout's Awards


Young Leader's Award

Earning the Scouts Young Leader's Award is not only a recognition of a young leader's efforts but also a testament to their commitment to making a positive impact on their Scout group and community. It reflects the Scouts' emphasis on nurturing leadership skills and providing opportunities for young people to grow and succeed.

The award is typically available to explorers between the ages of 14 and 18 who are actively involved in leadership roles within the Scouts, particularly as Young Leaders. The young leaders assist adult leaders in leading activities, contributing to planning and organising events, and providing guidance to younger members of the group.

DofE Award

The Duke of Edinburgh Awards are prestigious award focuses on personal development through volunteering, skill-building, physical activities, and adventurous journeys has three levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold.

At Scouts, DofE is a part of the Explorer programme, so members must be 13.5 years old to start working on their awards. Subject to this minimum age, you can start the Bronze and Silver awards in the school year you turn 14 and 15 respectively. Gold has a minimum age of 16. All activities must be completed by a young person's 25th birthday.

Each level of the DofE Award involves participants completing the required activities and challenges within the specified time frame. The award is designed to promote personal development, self-discovery, and a sense of achievement. Participants are encouraged to step out of their comfort zones, learn new skills, contribute to their communities, and engage in outdoor adventures through the expedition component.

Special Awards

These awards challenge scouts to go beyond their comfort zones and achieve remarkable feats.